DIVORCE | PERSONAL GROWTH

I Opened My Mouth, Betrayed My Brain, and Ruined 25 Years of Marriage

I wouldn’t change anything except for me, so I did

Lisa S. Gerard
5 min readOct 19, 2021

--

confused woman with hand on head and hair in her face
Image by Franz Roos from Pixabay

Everything was fine in my marriage until the last 8 hobbling years.

Unfortunately, divorce proceedings started in the 25th year of our union. Once finalized, I told people how I was happily married for 15 years, yet married for a decade more than that. And though I found my response somewhat cheeky, somewhat humorous, it is indeed sad upon further reflection. Let’s add the word delusional into the mix.

The term happily married is subjective.

Of course, the word fine is subjective, also.

So, too, is the word blame.

The Early Years of Happily Married

I believed I was happy so, therefore, I was.

The first 15 years were filled with proper distractions. I loved raising our three kids and found being a wife and mother all I could ask for out of life. My days were busy managing the household, the kids’ schooling, and activities, volunteering in a couple of different capacities, and working outside the home upon need.

--

--

Lisa S. Gerard

Just doing my thing, letting you do yours. Be kind. It matters. Help break Mental Health stigma. Share a smile. https://lisasgerard.medium.com/membership